Domestic Engineer: Year 3

Three whole years since I’ve been a paid employee.  Some days it seem like it’s been a couple of weeks, sometimes it feels longer.  It’s been a crazy year.  Adjusting to having two children, moving to a house almost twice as big as our old one, getting pregnant with our third child… big big adjustments!

 I’m so thankful that I get to stay home and take care of our kids.  I know it doesn’t work for everyone but we love it.  Sure there are hard days.  Lately, with the morning sickness there have been challenging weeks.  It’s been hard not to get overwhelmed and discouraged.  I just can’t get everything done.  All of my energy goes into meals, laundry and dishes, and that’s pretty much it.  I feel guilty for not taking the kids outside as much as I’d like to, for Mike doing all the grocery shopping after he’s been at work all day, for the dust piling up but it’s just how things have to be for a little while.  I’m growing a baby, and that takes a lot of work too.  Mike has been so supportive and encouraging.  I don’t know what I’d do without him. 

I have things I want to work on this year.  I want to learn to make a cake from scratch.  I’d like to try more new recipes, and be more adventurous with my cooking.  I want to get a cleaning schedule figured out again.  I sort of lost my groove after the move and haven’t quite found it back.  I want to spend more time doing educational things with Garrett and be more consistent with my parenting.  

I also want to find some crafts that I can do, that are going to work with the season of life we are in.  I’m giving up on sewing for the time being.  I’ll probably do a couple of things a year, make Avery some skirts or something like that, but it’s not really something I can or want to devote a lot of time to.  Knitting is working really well, it’s easy to do while the kids are napping or while I’m relaxing on the couch with Mike.  So I think it’s going to be one of my main focuses for a while. 

I’m done with the gym also.  I don’t want to pay for it anymore.  I’m going to make it a priority to get plenty of exercise at home.  I have a hard time committing to work out videos so I don’t know if I’ll go that route again.  I’ve got hand weights and exercise bands though so I think I’ll be able to do quite a bit on my own. 

I couldn’t imagine having to get the kids ready and out the door on time to go to daycare so I could get to work.  It’s so hard to get us in the car to go to the grocery store, makes me tired just thinking about it.  A friend of mine is going through a similar situation as I did when I stopped working.  It sure brings back all the horrible memories from that time and serves as a good reminder that even our bad days are nowhere near as bad as it was then. 

It’s so fun watching the children grow and learn everyday.  I love catching sweet moments where they’re playing nicely or hugging.  Garrett’s vocabulary is expanding by the day and Avery is learning body parts and getting ready to walk.  They are so sweet and fun to be around, I’m just so thankful I get to spend my days with them. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

