Homeschooling Update

I’d like to do periodic updates on what we’re teaching Garrett.  Mostly for myself, so I can remember when it comes time for Avery (and baby brother, and any other children who come along) but also for anyone else who is interested.

I had wanted to get a curriculum for him, but I think for preschool we can just learn on our own.  I have one workbook for him to practice number tracing, but he’s not quite ready for it.  When he’s able to use it better, I’d also like to get him letter books as well.  They are really simple and straightforward, and I’m really impressed with them.  They are the Kumon brand workbooks, and the best prices I’ve found have been on Amazon.

Bible verses:

In the beginning, God created the heavens and the earth.  Genesis 1:1

I can do all things through, Christ who gives me strength.  Philippians 4:13

This is the day the Lord has made.  We will rejoice and be glad in it.  Psalms 118:24

Children obey your parents, for this pleases the Lord.  Colossians 3:20

I’ve been giving Garrett a new verse to learn every other week.  I ask him several times a day to repeat it to me.  He also repeats it to Mike when he gets home from work and we encourage him to repeat them for other family members.

Numbers:

Practice counting things and showing me numbers on his hand.  Also practicing number recognition, for 1-9 and verbal counting to about 20.  He doesn’t quite know them all though.

Letters:

He will sing the alphabet song, has a little trouble with L, M, N, O, P (comes out: climb over a P, haha, it’s cute!) but knows most of it.  Starting letter recognition A-G.  I was doing upper and lower case together, but he seemed to be confused by that so we’re just doing upper case now.  Practicing tracing letters, also.

Motor skills:

We’ve been practicing cutting a little.  Hasn’t quite gotten it figured out but he’s doing a lot better with hand control.  We also practice fine motor skills with  coloring, tracing letters, play doh, lacing cards, and stickers.

Sensory play:

I stole this idea from my sister in law, Julie.   She got some water beads for her son, so I decided to try them as well.  We got about 10 little bags for $2, off of Amazon.

DSCF9725

This is one bags worth, starting out.  You cover it with water and let them soak for about 12 hours.

DSCF9726

They weren’t covered with water when we first got up so I added more and they continued to expand.   This is how they looked when they were done.

DSCF9728

DSCF9732

Garrett loved them.  They are very squishy.

We also use dry beans, puff balls, and lids to help with sensory type learning.

Life skills:

He is outside helping Mike with wood working and yard projects a lot.  He’s been helping empty the dish washer.  I need to get better about waiting for him and not just doing it myself.  He also helps set the table.  I’ll give him a rag with diluted vinegar and he uses that to dust in the living room, and I’ve started having him help me mop the floors.  He also loves to help us while we’re cooking.  I’m not very good at letting him but I try to at least explain to him what I’m doing.  I also have him help switch the laundry from the washer to dryer, from dryer to basket, and put stuff away.  He’s also responsible for cleaning up his toys.

Character:

We’re focusing a lot on obedience right now.  Baby brother is coming in 10ish weeks and I’ve been trying to focus extra attention on manners, attitude and obedience.

We don’t do all of this everyday, maybe one or two games a day and one “learning” activity a couple times a week, sometimes more, sometimes less.  He’s only 3 so I’m not stressing about it.  I plan on teaching him all year (not following the normal school calendar) and taking breaks as needed/desired.  Such as after baby brother comes,  we’ll probably be taking a long break then.  Ha!

I’m linking up at http://www.themodestmomblog.com

7 thoughts on “Homeschooling Update

  1. “comes out: climb over a P, haha” – that is so cute!! Definitely record him doing that, if you can! 😀 I loved the early years! Of course, the older years are great in different ways too. 🙂

    • Now that I finally posted it, he’s not doing it anymore. I try to write down all the cute stuff he says, so at least I’ll have a record of it.

      • Yes, plenty!! 😉 I’d say the most important thing is to stay relaxed (which you seem to be) – there are YEARS to learn everything needed to learn…a lifetime, in fact. ❤
        I am now writing homeschooling posts, weekly (I hope), so definitely tune in! 😀

Leave a Reply

