Roosters

We butchered the Isa Brown roosters on Saturday.  There were 12 of them.  Mike went out as soon as we were done with breakfast and got everything started.  After the kids went down for naps, I went out to help him.  Definitely a lot faster with two people.  It took 4 hours all together, including set up and clean up.

I was a little worried about not being able to do much.  In November I tried to help him cut up his deer but wasn’t able to do much.  The smell was way too much for me to handle that early in pregnancy (about 8 weeks).   The chickens really didn’t smell at all.  It was a little weird/strange but it really didn’t bother me at all.  I was mostly in charge of plucking, rinsing, and bagging.  Had I not been pregnant, I would have liked to have done/learned more but I thought it was best to rest when I had the chance.  I wouldn’t be any help at all if I was having contractions.  Ha!

Last night after the kids went to bed we cut up the meat.  We had read that it’s best to refrigerate the meat for 24-48 hours before cutting up/freezing.  They weighed about 3lbs a piece.  We left 4 whole birds, cut 4 in half, and 4 into pieces/quarters.  We saved the bones and I plan on making broth and canning it.

Leave a Reply

