Jack’s Birth Story

Since today, the 12th, was my due date I thought it would be the perfect time to share Jack’s birth story.

July 8, 2013

2 am:  I wake up to go to the bathroom.

2:45 am:  I had a couple strong contractions in a row.  Decide to get up and time them, they’re about 5 minutes apart and 45 seconds long.

4:30 am:  After they stay the same, consistent, and very strong, I decide to wake Mike up and call the doctor.  They tell me to come in.  We get things around and wake the kids up.

5 am:  Arrive at the hospital.  I’m only at 2 1/2 cm and 70% effaced.  They monitor me for about an hour.

6 am:  Contractions slowed down to about 6-8 minutes apart, so we head home.  Mike goes to work.

8:30 am:  Nap time for all of us.  Still having strong contractions about 10-15 minutes apart.

10 am:  Wake up.  Right away strong contractions start again, still about 10 minutes apart.

11:30 am:  My mom leaves work.  Still having contractions.

2:30 pm:  My mom gets here and Mike comes home to pick me up.

3 pm:  We get to the hospital, I’m at  5 cm.  Our nurses are Micki, who we had with both Garrett and Avery, and Jackie.

4:30 pm:  I get my epidural.  It’s very nice!

6 pm:  They check me again.  It’s hard to tell how dilated I am because my bag is bulging out and the baby is not very low.  They estimate I’m about 6 1/2 cm but start to wonder if he might be breech.

7:15 pm:  Dr. Dewitt comes in to check me again.  She’s confident the baby is head down and says I’m at about 7/8 cm.  She pokes a couple of holes in my bag to help the baby move slowly down into the proper position.  She explains that he’s more anterior and that could be the cause of all the pelvic pressure I felt with contractions.  There is a little meconium in the water.

8:45 pm:  We have a new nurse, Bethany.  She checks me again and says I’m fully dilated but he’s still anterior.  We’re going to wait awhile and let him move down on his own.

DSCF0484

Waiting.

10:35 pm:  I feel some pressure but he’s still up pretty high.

10:38 pm:  The baby’s heart slows down quite a bit during a contraction.  Stays normal for the next two contractions.

11:30 pm:  Another contraction with a slow heartbeat.  Mike goes to find the nurse to make sure she’s aware, which she is.  We start some practice pushes.

12:15 am:  Slowly making some progress and we can start to see the baby’s head.  They call the doctor.

12:33 am:  Jack Thomas arrives.  He’s 9 lbs 2 oz, and 21 inches long.  He’s breathing well on his own so they aren’t concerned about the meconium.  His Apgars are 9 and 10 and I received a 1st degree tear.

DSCF0489 DSCF0490 DSCF0492 DSCF0494 DSCF0496 DSCF0506

Thoughts:  My epidural was not working as well by the time I started pushing.  I may have been sitting too upright, which can make it not distribute evenly.  I felt a LOT of stretching and I could feel him coming out a lot more than with the other two.  While it hurt A LOT, it was very exciting feeling him come out.  I wouldn’t have wanted to try it without the epidural though.  Ha!  With Avery, I only had to push 3 times and she came shooting out.  Since Jack was up a lot higher when I started pushing, I pushed a lot longer.  It took a little while to figure out what I was doing.

Giving birth is such an amazing experience.  Each time has been so exciting!  I’m so thankful for my third wonderful birth experience and my third beautiful, healthy baby!  God is so good!

8 thoughts on “Jack’s Birth Story

  1. Only a 1st degree tear?! I’ve had 4th degree tears with all three of my babies. 😦 It was fun to read your birth story. I wish we lived closer so I could cuddle your new cutie! Congrats on another sweet spirit!

    • I’m doing pretty well, taking little walks already. Well, when it’s not 90 outside. 😉 I’ve torn with the other two, it’s never fun but feels pretty quickly.

Leave a Reply

